考古学

巴别塔

历史学、考古学、词源学、以及逻辑学能证明圣经上所说的上帝使巴别塔倒塌并且把天下的语言变成很多种吗?
推荐给好友
更多音频文件: MP3

巴别塔

(文章编号: 960)

英国政府的监察官员不同意我们在神说人说电台播出的广告,他们阻止我们通过这种方式宣传。他们说,如果我们要做广告,他们要重新设定条件。

他们要从30秒钟广告的第一句你有问题吗?上帝可以给你答案!开始改变。

他们的疑问是:谁是上帝?你指的是谁?

当我们把第一句改成了你有问题吗?圣经中的神可以给你答案!并提交以后,又被他们驳回了。许多其他商业索赔由于不断地评论也面临挑战,例如:再活8年。我们通过E-mail发送许多学术文章,但是我相信几乎没有人看。他们无法理解圣经,也无法理解我们把圣经和上帝纯正的话等同起来的观点。我们告诉广播电台的负责人说,英国有国王詹姆斯版的圣经,英国的君主詹姆斯,派遣英国人打着福音宪章的旗帜去对美国进行殖民-----已经走了一段漫长的下坡路。

我们在神说人说电台的主张是上帝,他把圣经---他自己的话留给我们,并要在将来审判的日子按公义审判每个人。

我们已经得到全球众多关于耶稣基督的见证,并且提供3种参与这样荣耀见证的方式:

1 你可以为神说人说迫切祷告,祈求上帝通过电台做耶稣基督福音的见证。

2 你可以通过以下连接提供财务支持,帮助我们支付在各个媒体上的广告费用。

Contact Our Team
Sponsor Radio Commercials
3 你可以帮助我们做必要的调查研究,以简单的E-mail方式作为我们研究课题,如果发现你邮箱里有一个在特定领域的调查,请你注意。

凡是了解的人都知道,神说人说没有雇员,所有收到的捐款都用于购买广告。举例来说,我用212.5美元在纽约市的电台购买60秒的广告,有68,200位潜在的听众,-----在这些听众中间可能会有一些人就通过这个广告知道了上帝,并且接受耶稣基督为救主。

用昂贵的代价来购买宇宙中最有价值的商品----灵魂,没有比这个更有投资价值的了。这就是今天的主题。

神说,创世纪11:1-9

1 那时,天下人的口音言语都是一样。
2 他们往东边迁移的时候,在示拿地遇见一片平原,就住在那里。
3 他们彼此商议说:来吧,我们要做砖,把砖烧透了。他们就拿砖当石头,又拿石漆当泥灰。
4 他们说:来吧,我们要造一座城和一座塔,塔顶通天。为要传扬我们的名,免得我们分散在地上。
5 耶和华降临,要看看世人所建造的城和塔。
6 耶和华说:看哪,他们成为一样的人民。都是一样的言语,如今既做起这事来,以后他们要做的事就没有不成就的了。
7 我们下去,在那里变乱他们的口音,使他们的言语彼此不通。
8 于是,耶和华使它们从那里分散在全地上,他们就停工不造那城了。
9 因为耶和华在那里变乱天下人的言语,使众人分散在全地上,所以那城名叫巴别(就是变乱的意思)。

人说:
上帝通过奇妙的创造给人语言,这个世界上曾经只有一种语言,上帝把它分成了许多种-----------这种说法简直就是胡说八道。

现在的观点是:历史学、考古学、词源学、以及逻辑学能证明圣经上所说的上帝使巴别塔倒塌并且把天下的语言变成很多种吗?答案是肯定的,当然是!那些嘲笑这些超自然事件的人们只能说明他们愚昧至极。请充满信心吧,从很多课题的研究中我们发现真理和公义是常常联系在一起的,把你的生命建立在耶稣基督这块磐石上。另外,对于你们中间那些依然没有重生的人来说,行点击进入Further With Jesus,得到一些如何承受永生神国的介绍。

在创世纪第10和11章,记载了关于建造巴别塔的宁录,以及上帝挑战他和那些跟随他建造巴别塔的叛逆者。巴别最后变成了巴比伦,在启示录17:3-5,我们就会发现不顺服和混乱的结果:

3 我被圣灵感动,天使带我我旷野去,我就看见一个女人骑在朱红色的兽上,那兽有七头十角,遍体有亵渎的名号。
4 那女人穿着紫色和朱红色的衣服,用金子、宝石和珍珠为装饰;手拿金杯,杯中盛满了可憎之物,就是他淫乱的污秽。
5 在她额上有名写着说:奥秘哉!大巴比伦,作时尚的淫妇和一切可憎之物的母。

圣经上记载说,在巴别时代,天下人都说一种语言,在巴别城,宁录和他的跟随者们要建造一座通天塔,他们想纪念他们自己的名---不是属神的名。当上帝看到没有什么东西可以制约他们的愚昧和邪恶时,就决定在这个地方变乱他们的语言。就是在这座巴比伦城里,上帝把天下的语言分成了许多种。

宁录拒绝顺服上帝使人们分散遍满世界各地的旨意。神在创世纪8:17和9:1说:

8:17在你那里凡有血肉的活物,就是飞鸟、牲畜,和一切爬在地上的昆虫,都要带出来,叫它在地上滋生,大大兴旺。

9:1 神赐福给挪亚和他的儿子,对他们说:你们要生养众多,遍满了地。

但是宁录和他的同伴们却在创世纪11:4说:

他们说:来吧,我们要造一座城和一座塔,塔顶通天。为要传扬我们的名,免得我们分散在地上。

我们不能完全的知道神在处理这件事上的智慧,但是有一些观点却是很明显的:

1浓密的人口会导致各种各样的传染性疾病
2浓密的人口会导致犯罪率的升高,例如:通奸、同性恋、偷窃、武力、谋杀等等各种各样的罪。
3 分散人口,可以帮助人们避免以上的两种问题,同时,人们可以更好的利用地球的资源发展自己。

但是,宁录和他的追随者们却不这样做。

著名的犹太人历史学家约瑟夫继基督之后在他的《犹太古史》一书中写到:

这个平原最开始的时候叫示拿,上帝吩咐他们为了遍满全地而扩展地域-----他们之间可能没有暴乱,在很多地方耕种且享受劳动的收获,但是他们致命的错误就是不顺服上帝。
现在,就是宁录煽动他们轻视上帝。宁录是含的孙子,含是挪亚的儿子----他是个英雄,有很大的力量。宁录使他们不感谢上帝,让他们相信好像是因为他的努力才使他们生活在幸福中,他使他们相信是因为他们自己的勇气和胆量才赚得这样的幸福。他也逐渐把统治的方式改成暴力统治-----使人们不再敬畏上帝,而是不断地依靠他自己的力量。他还说,如果可以把世界淹没的话,他就以此来报复上帝,因此他要建造一座通天塔以便大水不能淹没塔顶,这样他就可以报他们先祖被上帝用洪水淹没的仇!

众人都准备好了要跟从宁录的决定,并且认为---如果顺服上帝便是胆小懦弱的表现,为了建造这座塔他们既可以承受任何痛苦也可以承担任何微不足道的角色。另外,因为众人都齐心合力的建造这座塔,所以塔比预期建的更快更高。它很厚,很结实,很高。人们用烧透的砖建造并灌入水泥沥青,所以塔的防水性就非常完美了。当上帝看到他们如此疯狂的建造时,并不想完全的毁灭他们,因为他们还没有从他们的先祖---那些罪人的毁灭中得到教训;但是上帝却通过变乱他们的语言这种方式使他们喧哗不止。因为有多种语言在他们中间,以致他们不能相互理解,造塔的地方就是现在的巴比伦。正是因为这种本来可以相互理解的语言被变乱了,所以希伯来人就用了巴别,意思就是变乱。希腊的女预言家也提到过这座塔及语言被变乱的事情,她的记载如下:当天下人都用一种语言的时候,他们中间的一些人起来要建造一座高塔,好像他们可以借着这座塔通向天堂,但是上帝用暴风雨掀翻了这座塔,并且打乱了他们的语言,这就是巴比伦城市的由来。

就是在巴别,世界上各种民族出现了。因为意大利人不懂俄语,俄国人不懂德语,德国人不懂英语,诸如此类,于是每个民族按着他们的语言聚集。(敬请注意:以上所提到的语言及民族并不是在宁录时代就被命名了,只是举例而已。)

除此以外,约瑟夫也就民族的形成发表以下观点:

从此以后因为语言的缘故他们分散到各处,在上帝的指引下建立自己的国家,且把当地的土地占为己有,他们遍满了内地和海外的整个大陆。他们其中的一些人穿洋越海,居住在海岛上;至今还保留着他们祖先首次踏上海岛时所留下来的传统。(引用结束)

莫里斯和克拉克博士参加了《圣经有答案》一书的撰写,以下是他们在书中的部分章节:

天下各族的分散发生在巴别,因为耶和华在那里变乱天下人的言语,使众人分散在全地上(创世纪11:9)。人们试图在洪水以后建立一个联合国,目的是为了传扬人的名而不是神的名,这个审判就随之而来。创世纪10章精确地记载了最开始的70个国家的名字,而这些国家都源于这个分散。考古学和人类学已经以一种显著地方式证明了原始国家的存在以及大量的移民,这个重要的历史时期不仅仅要接受,更要有更多的研究和应用。它以此结束:这些都是挪亚三个儿子的宗族,各随他们的支派立国。洪水以后,他们在地上分为邦国。(创世纪10:32)(引用结束)。

巴别以及这座通天塔的概念数百年来被人们当作笑柄,但是请认真听听这个事实。1899年,德国东方社会在R. Koldewey教授的指引下派遣出一支远征军去探索幼发拉底河畔著名的巴别废墟。经过18年的探索,他们发现了尼布甲尼撒二世的皇家宝座,同时也发现了世界七大奇观之一--------空中花园。他们还发现了传说中的巴别塔。

请仔细地听下面的这条信息,这是一项关于共同语言的声明:就是在巴别塔上帝使天下的一种语言变成了很多种。英国博物馆的工作人员乔治.史密斯翻译了巴比伦洪水的原因,他通过在挖掘中发现的一些古老碎片发表了一篇想象报道,在这篇报道中他写道:

这座塔的建造冒犯了上帝,一天晚上,他们丢下正在建造的塔分散到各地去,而且他们的语言被变乱了。这项造塔的工程就被迫停止了。

可以想象,这是巴比伦人的解释,而不是圣经。

有一个叫Alfredo Trombetti的人写了一本名为《统一语言的起源》的书,其中讲到他能够证明所有语言起源于一种语言。Max Muehler,发表一项关于语言同一起源的声明,我们已经调查了词汇可以呈现的任何一种形式,现在我们要问:我们是否能协调词汇的放射性(一个词根可以引发多个不相关的词汇)、派生性、曲折性变化性这三种形式------人类语言有个共同的起源?答案毫无疑问,是的!

人类语言起源是统一的?这可能吗?以下引用了J.M. McDowell的新证据得出的结论:现在有一个非常重要的证据证明在人类历史上确实曾经只有一种语言。闪文化曾经几次提到这个事实。语言学家们在给语言分类的时候也发现了这个很有说服力的学说。(引用结束)

再来看看莫里斯和克拉克博士的话:

最初的人类语言,特别是如此复杂的语言分类,进化论者们是没有办法解释清楚的。没有什么可以与这种高级动物的语言能力相比。人类语言是神圣的创造这是到目前为止最合理的解释。另外,就像圣经上所教导我们的,这么多种类的语言反射出对人类的审判这个事实,这也是到目前为止我们所拥有的最合理的解释。

2002年3月在《发现》杂志的评论里,有这样一段关于M.C. Baker的书《语言原子:思想支配语法》的评论:世界上6000多种语言是完全不同还是有用共同的基层结构?Baker是一个理性科学家,他认为如果不是全部,那么大多数语言都是同一个根源。Baker说,把这些根源或规则绘出来的话,就会得到一个语言周期表,所有的语言分类得出一个单一的语言构架。(引用结束)

哥本哈根的Otto Jesperson写到:一些学者看到用普通的理论无法解释语言的形成 ,所以就放弃了所有的努力转向宗教信仰的解释,也就是上帝通过一个神迹把语言分成了很多种。

世界上以教条著名的达尔文主义学者关于语言有以下的说法,引用2001年3月出版的归回创世纪:世界上成千上万中的语言都是很复杂的(有些人说这些语言复杂至极,但是这种说法从意识形态上说过于完美而而让人觉得不完全正确。)我却偏向于语言是逐渐形成的,但是却没有明显的证据证明。有些人认为语言是瞬间开始的,在一个特殊的时间、地点有某个天才发明。

在这个课题的最后,现代人类学证明世界人口是从近东地区、巴别塔、同一个祖先,当然,也是从上帝给人的统一语言发展起来的。

最后再一次强调,上帝的话已经被证明是完全正确的,人类从巴别塔被驱散到世界各地,也就是在那个时候上帝变乱了人类的语言。

神说,创世纪11:1-9

1 那时,天下人的口音言语都是一样。
2 他们往东边迁移的时候,在示拿地遇见一片平原,就住在那里。
3 他们彼此商议说:来吧,我们要做砖,把砖烧透了。他们就拿砖当石头,又拿石漆当泥灰。
4 他们说:来吧,我们要造一座城和一座塔,塔顶通天。为要传扬我们的名,免得我们分散在地上。
5 耶和华降临,要看看世人所建造的城和塔。
6 耶和华说:看哪,他们成为一样的人民。都是一样的言语,如今既做起这事来,以后他们要做的事就没有不成就的了。
7 我们下去,在那里变乱他们的口音,使他们的言语彼此不通。
8 于是,耶和华使它们从那里分散在全地上,他们就停工不造那城了。
9 因为耶和华在那里变乱天下人的言语,使众人分散在全地上,所以那城名叫巴别(就是变乱的意思)。

人说:
上帝通过奇妙的创造给人语言,这个世界上曾经只有一种语言,上帝把一种语言分成了许多种语言-------这种说法简直就是胡说八道。

现在你已经听到了关于这课的录音。

参考资料:

詹姆斯国王授权版本(Authorized King James Version)

Free, J.P.《考古学和圣经历史》,
( Free, J.P. Archaeology and Bible History.)

Free, J.P.,亚述巴尼帕图书馆,1945年2月10日
(Free, J.P. The Library of Ashurbanipal, February 10, 1945.)

Josephus, F., 《约瑟夫全集 》Kregel 出版,第30页(Josephus, F., Josephus, Complete Works, Kregel Publications, p30.)

McDowell, J.,《新证据得出的结论》Nelson 1999年,第105页
(McDowell, J., The New Evidence That Demands A Verdict, Nelson, 1999, p105.)

Morris, H.M., 《人类语言的神秘性》归回创世纪,创造研究院2001年3月
(Morris, H.M., The Mystery of Human Language, Back To Genesis, Institute for Creation Research, March 2001.)

Morris and Clark,《圣经有答案》Master Books,2001年底7页,第112-113页
(Morris and Clark, The Bible Has The Answer, Master Books, 2001, pp70, 112-113.)

发现评论,2002年3月,第78页
(Reviews, Discover, March 2002, p78.)

Smith, George, Chalderan Account of Genesis, New York, Scribers, 1876.

Trombetti, A., 《统一的语言》
(Trombetti, A., The Unity and Origin of Language.)

访问: 20462

Archaeology

Tower of Babel

It was at Babel that the world’s nationalities began. Because the Italian couldn’t understand the Russian, the Russian couldn’t understand the German, the German couldn’t understand the English, so on and so forth; each group separated according to their languages.
Recommend To A Friend
Audio Options: MP3

Tower of Babel

Article#: 960

The government censors in England said “No” to the God Said Man Said radio commercials we submitted for airing—blocking us from London’s airwaves. They informed us that alterations were required if we wanted to advertise.

Their alterations began with the very first sentence of the 30-second radio spot which originally read, “You’ve got questions? God’s got answers!”

Their challenge was, “Who is God? What god are you referring to?”

We sent back a revised script and the lead sentence read, “You’ve got questions? The God of the Bible has answers!” This was also rejected. Numerous other claims in the commercial were challenged for substantiation as well, such as the statement, “Live eight years longer.” We e-mailed full scholastic support, but I’m relatively sure no one read it. Their challenge was to the God of the Bible and our equating of the Bible as God’s unadulterated Word. We told the radio station representative that the England that produced the Authorized Version of the King James Bible, the England whose monarch, King James, sent Englishmen to colonize America under the banner of the Evangelical Charter, had fallen a long way.

England’s radio schedule was cancelled. We just ended a radio flight in Pittsburgh and, God-willing, we’ll shortly be airing in Sydney, Australia, New York City, and Nashville, Tennessee. We also have a short flight that airs on U.S. television weekly.

Our claim at GodSaidManSaid is that God is, that He authored the Scriptures, and will hold all men accountable to the Scriptures at a soon-coming judgment day.

We have the colossal honor of reaching a global multitude with the testimony of Jesus Christ. There are three ways visitors to the website can participate in this glorious undertaking:

1. You can pray diligently for GodSaidManSaid, and its eternal purpose of reaching and proving God’s Word to the lost.

2. You can send financial support to underwrite needed advertising in various media.

3. You can help with necessary research. Simply e-mail us for a subject to research. If you have a particular type of training in a specific field of study, please note it.

To all who would like to know, GodSaidManSaid is a tax-deductible corporation having no paid employees. Almost all donations received are used to purchase advertising. For example, I’m looking at a New York City radio buy where $212.50 will purchase one 60-second radio spot with a potential for 68,200 listeners—and among them will be those who come to know our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. With a blood-bought soul as the most valuable “commodity” in the universe, one will scarcely find a better investment on this planet. NOW FOR TODAY’S SUBJECT.

GOD SAID, Genesis 11:1-9:

1 And the whole earth was of one language, and of one speech.

2 And it came to pass, as they journeyed from the east, that they found a plain in the land of Shinar; and they dwelt there.

3 And they said one to another, Go to, let us make brick, and burn them thoroughly. And they had brick for stone, and slime had they for mortar.

4 And they said, Go to, let us build us a city and a tower, whose top may reach unto heaven; and let us make us a name, lest we be scattered abroad upon the face of the whole earth.

5 And the LORD came down to see the city and the tower, which the children of men builded.

6 And the LORD said, Behold, the people is one, and they have all one language; and this they begin to do: and now nothing will be restrained from them, which they have imagined to do.

7 Go to, let us go down, and there confound their language, that they may not understand one another's speech.

8 So the LORD scattered them abroad from thence upon the face of all the earth: and they left off to build the city.

9 Therefore is the name of it called Babel; because the LORD did there confound the language of all the earth: and from thence did the LORD scatter them abroad upon the face of all the earth.

MAN SAID: The concept that God gave man language via the miracle of creation, that all the world once spoke the same language, and that God divided that once common language into many at the Tower of Babel is sheer nonsense.

Now THE RECORD. Do history, archaeology, etymology, and common logic certify the Bible’s miraculous account of God’s overthrow of the Tower of Babel and the confounding of man’s one common language into many? The answer is, of course, “Yes!” Those who make a mockery of such supernatural accounts are simply demonstrating their lack of knowledge. Let your faith abound. The Words found in the majority-text are true and righteous altogether. Build your life on the solid rock, Christ Jesus. As an aside, to those of you who have yet to become born-again, click on to “Further With Jesus,” for instant entry into the Kingdom of God.

In Genesis, chapters 10 & 11, the Word of God records the account of Nimrod, the city of Babel that he founded, and the defiant Tower of Babel that he and the rebellious ones who followed him constructed. Babel becomes the city of Babylon. In Revelation 17:3-5, we find the final fruit of the root of disobedience and confusion:

3 So he carried me away in the spirit into the wilderness: and I saw a woman sit upon a scarlet coloured beast, full of names of blasphemy, having seven heads and ten horns.

4 And the woman was arrayed in purple and scarlet colour, and decked with gold and precious stones and pearls, having a golden cup in her hand full of abominations and filthiness of her fornication:

5 And upon her forehead was a name written, MYSTERY, BABYLON THE GREAT, THE MOTHER OF HARLOTS AND ABOMINATIONS OF THE EARTH.

The Bible records that, until the time of Babel, everybody spoke the same language. In the city of Babel, Nimrod and his followers decided to build a tower to heaven. They wanted to make a name for themselves—an ungodly name. God, seeing that nothing could restrain them from their foolish and wicked endeavor, decided at this place to confound their language. It was there in city of Babylon that God created diversity of languages.

Nimrod refused to submit himself to God’s desire that men should spread out and populate the entire earth. God said in Genesis 8:17 and 9:1:

8:17 Bring forth with thee every living thing that is with thee, of all flesh, both of fowl, and of cattle, and of every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth; that they may breed abundantly in the earth, and be fruitful, and multiply upon the earth.

9:1 And God blessed Noah and his sons, and said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth.

But Nimrod and his followers said in Genesis 11:4:

And they said, Go to, let us build us a city and a tower, whose top may reach unto heaven; and let us make us a name, lest we be scattered abroad upon the face of the whole earth.

We cannot know all the wisdom of God’s judgment in this matter, but some points are readily obvious:

1. Dense mega-populations are prime breeding grounds for all manner of infectious diseases.

2. Mega-populations house and promote a myriad of sins. Sins such as adultery, homosexuality, theft, assault, and murder abound.

3. By spreading out the people, man could escape the magnitude of the problems listed in #1 and #2. Also, man could more perfectly develop the varied resources and benefits of the earth.

But Nimrod and his adherents would have none of it.

The famed Jewish historian Josephus, who wrote shortly after the life of Christ, states in his book, Antiquities of the Jews, the following:

Now the plain in which they first dwelt was called Shinar. God also commanded them to send colonies abroad, for the thorough peopling of the earth,—that they might not raise seditions among themselves, but might cultivate a great part of the earth, and enjoy its fruits after a plentiful manner: but they were so ill instructed, that they did not obey God;

Now it was Nimrod who excited them to such an affront and contempt of God. He was the grandson of Ham, the son of Noah,—a bold man, and of great strength of hand. He persuaded them not to ascribe it to God, as if it was through his means they were happy, but to believe that it was their own courage which procured that happiness. He also gradually changed the government into tyranny,—seeing no other way of turning men from the fear of God, but to bring them into a constant dependence upon his power. He also said he would be revenged on God, if he should have a mind to drown the world again; for that he would build a tower too high for the waters to be able to reach! and that he would avenge himself on God for destroying their forefathers!

Now the multitude were very ready to follow the determination of Nimrod, and to esteem it a piece of cowardice to submit to God; and they built a tower, neither sparing any pains, nor being in any degree negligent about the work; and, by reason of the multitude of hands employed in it, it grew very high, sooner than any one could expect; but the thickness of it was so great, and it was so strongly built, that the reby its great height seemed, upon the view, to be less than it really was. It was built of burnt brick, cemented together with mortar, made of bitumen, that it might not be liable to admit water. When God saw that they acted so madly, he did not resolve to destroy them utterly, since they were not grown wiser by the destruction of the former sinners; but he caused a tumult among them, by producing in them divers languages; and causing that, through the multitude of those languages, they should not be able to understand one another. The place wherein they built the tower is now called Babylon; because of the confusion of that language which they readily understood before; for the Hebrews mean by the word Babel, Confusion. The Sibyl also makes mention of this tower, and of the confusion of the language, when she says thus:—“When all men were of one language, some of them built a high tower, as if they would thereby ascend up to heaven; but the gods sent storms of wind and overthrew the tower, and gave every one his peculiar language; and for this reason it was that the city was called Babylon.” [End of quote]

It was at Babel that the world’s nationalities began. Because the Italian couldn’t understand the Russian, the Russian couldn’t understand the German, the German couldn’t understand the English, so on and so forth; each group separated according to their languages. (Note that the nationalities mentioned above did not exist as so-named in the days of Nimrod, but are used for example only.)

Again, Josephus on the formation of nationalities:

After this they were dispersed abroad, on account of their languages, and went out by colonies everywhere; and each colony took possession of that land which they light upon, and unto which God led them; so that the whole continent was filled with them, both the inland and maritime countries. There were some also who passed over the sea in ships, and inhabited the islands; and some of those nations do still retain the denominations which were given them by their first founders;  [End of quote]

Doctors Morris and Clark weigh in on the founding of nations in The Bible Has The Answer. The following excerpts are from their book:

The division and separation of the nations took place at Babel, when “the Lord did there confound the language of all the earth: and from thence did the Lord scatter them abroad upon the face of all the earth” (Genesis 11:9). This judgment followed man’s first attempt after the great Flood to build a “United Nations,” established for the purpose of exalting man’s will against that of God.

The amazingly accurate tenth chapter of Genesis names the earth’s seventy original national units, resulting from this dispersion. Archaeology and ethnology have confirmed the existence and migrations of most of these primeval nations in a remarkable way, and the chapter deserves much more study and application than it has yet received. It concludes with the statement: “These are the families of the sons of Noah, after their generations, in their nations: and by these were the nations divided in the earth after the flood” (Genesis 10:32). [End of quote]

This notion of Babel and its great tower has been ridiculed through the years, but listen to the facts: In 1899, the German Oriental Society set out on an expedition under the direction of Professor R. Koldewey to examine the famous ruin mound of Babel on the Euphrates. It took 18 years of excavation. They uncovered the royal seat of Nebuchadnezzar, and at the same time one of the Seven Wonders of the World, the Hanging Gardens. They also uncovered the legendary Tower of Babel.

Listen carefully to this next piece of information. This is a statement concerning the common language. It was at the Tower of Babylon that God changed man’s speech from one common language to many. George Smith, the staff member of the British Museum who translated the Babylonian account of the Flood, published the following mind-boggling translation of an ancient fragment found in the excavations. This is what the Babylonians had written:

The building of this temple offended the gods. In a night, they threw down what had been built, they scattered them abroad and made strange their speech. The progress then impeded.

Imagine, this is the Babylonians’ account, not the Holy Bible's.

A man by the name of Alfredo Trombetti, in his book titled The Unity of the Origin of Language, states that he is able to prove the common origin of all languages. Max Muehler, the comparative philologist, declared concerning the common origin of speech, “We have examined all possible forms which language can assume and we now ask, ‘Can we reconcile with these three distinct forms, the radical, the terminational, inflectional—the admission of one common origin of human speech? I answer decidedly, ‘yes’.”

“The admission of one common origin of human speech?” Could it be? The following excerpt is from J.M. McDowell’s The New Evidence That Demands A Verdict.

There is now considerable evidence that the world did indeed have a single language at one time. Sumerian literature alludes to this fact several times. Linguists also find this theory helpful in categorizing languages.  [End of quote]

Again from Doctors Morris and Clark:

The origin of human language, and especially of the tremendous diversity of human languages, is as yet quite inexplicable to the evolutionist. There is nothing even remotely comparable to such an ability among the higher animals. That human speech and language are divine creations is by far the most reasonable explanation. Furthermore, the fact that the great variety of languages reflects a divine judgment on early man, as the Bible teaches, is also the most reasonable explanation we have.

In the book review section of Discover magazine, March 2002, is found the following paragraph in review of M.C. Baker’s book, The Atoms of Language: The Mind’s Hidden Rules of Grammar:

Are the world’s 6,000 languages fundamentally different from one another, or do they share a common underlying structure? Baker, a cognitive scientist, argues that most, if not all, languages conform to a common set of rules. Mapping these rules, says Baker, could produce a periodic table of language, a single framework from which all tongues are derived. [End of quote]

Otto Jesperson of the University of Copenhagen wrote, “Some scholars see the insufficiency of the usual theories and giving up all attempts at explaining it the natural way fall back on the religious belief that the first language was directly given to the first men by God through a miracle.”

One of the world’s most visible and dogmatic Darwinists has this to say about language, as quoted in the March 2001 issue of Back To Genesis:

...all the thousands of languages in the world are very complex (some say they are all exactly equally complex, but that sounds too ideologically perfect to be wholly plausible). I am biased towards thinking it was gradual, but it is not quite obvious that it had to be. Some people think it began suddenly, more or less invented by a single genius in a particular place at a particular time.

Finally, on this subject, modern anthropology knows that the world’s population sprang forth from the area of the Near East—from the area of the Tower of Babel—from one common mother and father, and yes, from one common God-given language.

Once again, God’s Word is vindicated; for it was from Babel that one common population was scattered around the world when God confounded their language.

GOD SAID, Genesis 11:1-9:

1 And the whole earth was of one language, and of one speech.

2 And it came to pass, as they journeyed from the east, that they found a plain in the land of Shinar; and they dwelt there.

3 And they said one to another, Go to, let us make brick, and burn them thoroughly. And they had brick for stone, and slime had they for mortar.

4 And they said, Go to, let us build us a city and a tower, whose top may reach unto heaven; and let us make us a name, lest we be scattered abroad upon the face of the whole earth.

5 And the LORD came down to see the city and the tower, which the children of men builded.

6 And the LORD said, Behold, the people is one, and they have all one language; and this they begin to do: and now nothing will be restrained from them, which they have imagined to do.

7 Go to, let us go down, and there confound their language, that they may not understand one another's speech.

8 So the LORD scattered them abroad from thence upon the face of all the earth: and they left off to build the city.

9 Therefore is the name of it called Babel; because the LORD did there confound the language of all the earth: and from thence did the LORD scatter them abroad upon the face of all the earth.

MAN SAID: The concept that God gave man language via the miracle of creation, that all the world once spoke the same language, and that God divided that once common language into many at the Tower of Babel is sheer nonsense.

Now you have THE RECORD.




References:

Authorized King James Version

Free, J.P.,  Archaeology and Bible History.

Free, J.P., The Library of Ashurbanipal, February 10, 1945.

Josephus, F., Josephus, Complete Works, Kregel Publications, p30.

McDowell, J., The New Evidence That Demands A Verdict, Nelson, 1999, p105.

Morris, H.M., “The Mystery of Human Language,” Back To Genesis, Institute for Creation Research, March 2001.

Morris and Clark, The Bible Has The Answer, Master Books, 2001, pp70, 112-113.

“Reviews,” Discover, March 2002, p78.

Smith, George, Chalderan Account of Genesis, New York, Scriber’s, 1876.

Trombetti, A., The Unity and Origin of Language

Visits: 30564