神说人说

酒和基督徒

你曾经被酒精或毒品所捆绑吗?耶稣基督的能力可以打破那个捆绑。
推荐给好友
更多音频文件: MP3

酒和基督徒

(文章编号: 726)

一位神说人说的访问者问:"酒精饮料和基督徒又怎么样呢?"关于这个主题从许多讲坛发出一种有害的信息,许多基督徒完全迷惑了,有些人对此还很喜欢。一些悔改的基督徒经常去当地饮用或在他们的冰箱里储存许多酒精饮料,他们当中许多人已经被它的能力所捆绑。生活被毁了,见证被毁了,而这一切都是奉耶稣的名做的。现在看今天的主题。
你曾经被酒精或毒品所捆绑吗?耶稣基督的能力可以打破那个捆绑。这个释放开始于一个耶稣称之为"重生"的地方。这是一个有真真实实的神迹真真实实的能力的地方。你准备好了被释放吗?你准备好了得到能力去过一个基督徒的生活吗?点击"Further With Jesus"跟随简单的指引,你立刻就能进入神的国。现在是今天的主题。
神说,箴言23:29-35:
29谁有祸患?谁有忧愁?谁有争斗?谁有哀叹?谁无故受伤?谁眼目红赤?
30就是那流连饮酒,常去寻找调和酒的人。
31.32酒发红,在杯中闪烁,你不可观看,虽然下咽舒畅,终久是咬你如蛇,刺你如毒蛇。
33你眼必看见异怪的事,你心必发出乖谬的话。
34你必像躺在海中,或像卧在桅杆上。
35你必说:"人打我,我却未受伤;人鞭打我,我竟不觉得。我几时清醒,我仍去寻酒。"
哈巴谷书2:15
给人喝酒,又加上毒物使他喝醉,好看见他下体的有祸了!
箴言20:1
酒能使人亵慢,浓酒使人喧嚷,凡因酒错误的,就无智慧。

人说,适度的喝一点,一点白酒,一点啤酒,一点威士忌,大麻,可卡因等等,耶稣也造酒,对吧?

现在来看记录。字源学,就是研究字词的学科,其中有一条叫做字词首次出现的原则。这个原则认为一个字词的定义主要在于它首次被用时的含义。单词"酒醉"首次出现在创世记9:21。这是第一个酒精饮料的记录和有人受到酒精影响的记录,那人不是别人正是诺亚。科学家们注意到诺亚是不知情的。他是一个造酒几百年的专业的农夫,但这一次,世界性的大洪水刚过,情况再也不一样了。在下面的特写中我会解释。不过,诺亚喝酒醉倒在他的帐篷里。他的儿子含因为这件事在兄弟的面前不尊重父亲。当诺亚醒了之后,知道含所做的,就咒诅含的儿子迦南。这个年轻人之后居住在迦南地,就是今天的以色列地。这些人和以实玛利人以及其他阿拉伯人就在现在的中东。他们将参与可怕的暴乱,并串通一气带来恐怖的阿买单战役。想象一下第一次酒精饮料的出现也参与了阿买单战役。

酒精破坏性的后果对于世界人口来说也像似一场阿买单战役。这个专题首次出版是在2002年。统计资料来自美国,是比较准确的数据。酒精在其他国家所带来的后果,我肯定,和这一样或甚至更糟。美国现在的人口估计为307,673,950,想想这些事实:13,000,000美国成年人是酗酒者,而另外76,000,000是受到其不利影响的人。今年估计100,000美国人将死于酒精。这个数字差不多是整个越南战争中死亡士兵人数的两倍。所有暴力案件及所有伤亡事故的50%都涉及酒精。十个当中有三个美国公民一生中会牵涉到和酒精有关的事故中。想象一下美国每年大约要花费1,670亿美元用于偿付酒精带来的损失。四分之一的美国孩子生活在酗酒受虐家庭而遭受心理疾病。今天估计有11,000,000美国儿童和未成年人在饮用酒精饮料。想想那些由于饮用酒精饮料而产生的心碎的被遗弃的母亲们,父亲们和孩子们,破碎的家庭,通奸,强奸,乱伦等等。另外一种酒精带来的可怕破坏是针对母亲子宫中未出生的婴儿的影响。这叫做胎儿酒精综合症。一个母亲在孕期只饮一次酒精饮料也会导致它。它是导致孩子先天发育不良,智商比未受影响的同龄人低13-16点的头号原因。许多脑力发育迟缓就是胎儿酒精综合症的结果。

饮酒杀死神经细胞,导致癌症,伤害肝脏,破坏人分别是非的能力等等,等等。这个问题比世界人口的大部分问题更糟。当然它是自己的阿买单之战。
既然有那么严重的证据反对饮用酒精饮料,为什么还有那么多关于圣经看法的困惑存在呢?让我们来看一看。

神的话说到酒和烈性饮料(本篇文章所指的主要是葡萄酒)。早先我提到诺亚是有历史记录以来第一个喝醉的人,科学家说这个义人是不知情的,原因如下:例如,自然的发酵过程产生葡萄汁,在诺亚时代发酵是一种大气变化的结果,早在诺亚大洪水前,一个水天篷环绕着地球(请看本网站的"One Hundred And Twenty Years一百二十年")。那个水天篷被神摧毁倾泻到了地上,从此它被一个臭氧层所替代。根据科学家的观点,那个被消除的水天蓬本来可以过滤掉从太阳而来的致命的紫外线。其原因是紫外线能导致细菌(一种天然的酵母)在田野的葡萄上以及所有其他水果上生成,这转而导致果汁发酵。在诺亚之前,这些紫外线被神的水天蓬所阻挡。因此,诺亚可能还没有意识到发酵的危险。

当酵母紫外线的一个产品作用于水果里的糖,把它首先转化成酒精和二氧化碳时,发酵过程就发生了,然后它会变成醋,除非把它和空气隔绝。1790年,西多会修士发现加糖能显著增加葡萄酒的酒精含量。此外,大部分今日的造酒人在果汁里自然发生的酵母中加入酒母引子以使酒精含量更高。
箴言23:31说:
酒发红,在杯中闪烁,你不可观看
换句话说,不要喝已发酵的葡萄酒。并且,神命令我们不要喝的是中东的相比今天的酒精饮料含糖量少因此酒精含量也较低的葡萄酒。根据历史书《Achaeology and Bible History考古学和圣经历史》,事实上在古代巴勒斯坦地区的葡萄酒和啤酒由于葡萄汁里的糖分有限,所使用的麦芽不多,所以酒精含量不超过5-8%。

一些关于饮用酒精饮料的困惑是由于许多人错误的认为圣经里的"葡萄酒"就是指发酵过的葡萄汁。然而,简单地查一查经文,就发现未发酵的和发酵过的葡萄汁都叫做"Wine",在以下经文中可以看到:
以赛亚书65:8
耶和华如此说:"葡萄中寻得新酒,人就说:'不要毁坏,因为福在其中。'我因为仆人的缘故也必照样而行,不将他们全然毁灭。
弥迦书6:15:
你必撒种,却不得收割;踹橄榄,却不得油抹身 ;踹葡萄,却不得酒喝。
箴言3:10:
这样,你的仓房必充满有余,你的酒榨有新酒盈溢。
何西阿书9:2:
谷场和酒榨都不够以色列人使用,新酒也必缺乏。
约珥书2:24:
禾场必满了麦子,酒榨和油榨必有新酒和油盈溢。
请注意它被称为葡萄酒,因为它是从榨酒的地方出来的。
一个特定的词有超过一个的含义并不让人感到吃惊。例如,奶可以指妈妈的奶或者牛的奶,或称人的仁慈为甜奶,等等。
在旧约,有两个希伯来词都翻译成wine葡萄酒,第一个是tirosh,它出现38次,意思是"葡萄汁,新鲜的葡萄酒",葡萄汁的意思是"快速未发酵的葡萄果汁"。再看《Achaeology and Bible History考古学和圣经历史》。下面的摘录就是有关希伯来的两个翻译成wine的词,它开始先谈tirosh:
考察这个词的用法知道它不是指发酵过的饮料。十一次说到wine时是指丰收时初榨的新鲜果汁,通常是在句子"玉米,新酒和油"中,显然是指葡萄汁。十七次和谷物和油一起使用,作为一种土地的出产,意思也是葡萄汁。在三个地方说到tirosh充满酒榨,显然是指新鲜压榨的葡萄汁(约珥书2:24,何西阿书9:2,箴言3:10)。以赛亚书65:8给我们一幅图画是tirosh还在葡萄里,弥迦书6:15节是最清楚的,它说tirosh是用于形成发酵葡萄酒的原料,只在一个地方把tirosh和邪恶联系在一起(何西阿书4:11),"奸淫和酒(yayin),并新酒(tirosh),夺去人的心。"甚至在这里的上下文也没有提到tirosh和醉酒有关或它本身引起醉酒。
很清楚,tirosh通常的意思是指"葡萄汁",一种没有什么酒精含量的饮料。
再来看第二个希伯来词"yayin",它继续说到:
Yayin是旧约当中最普遍的一个指葡萄酒的词,出现了一百三十五次,很清楚的意思是发酵葡萄酒。至少三十次yayin确定和醉酒有关,使用它或多或少都受到谴责;拿细耳人禁止喝它(民数记6:3);但以理拒绝了国王的yayin(但以理书1:8)。在旧约提到yayin的地方有一半是很清楚受到指责的。在一些提到它的地方仅仅是作为自然的出产而不予褒贬,正如有时提到一夫多妻而没有在提到的地方加以特别的谴责。对有人认为是支持饮用yayin的段落进行的考察证明它们实际上并没有这种支持:使用yayin来做祭物并不是要喝它,因为这祭物不使人醉酒;(摘录完毕)
(请注意:这种祭物从来不是给人喝的,而是在主面前倒出来。正如神命令人不要吃所有对身体不利的东西一样;即油脂,血,粪便,肝脏上面的膜等。)
正如旧约一样,在新约里wine的意思可以是未发酵的也可能是发酵的葡萄酒。以弗所书5:18节说:"不要醉酒"时,它指发酵的葡萄酒。Wine可能是发酵的也可能是未发酵的。
现在来看关于耶稣在迦拿的婚宴上把水变成酒,有一个明显的理由证明耶稣事实上并没有造出发酵的酒,这个理由就是主耶稣基督是无罪的。如果他造出发酵的酒参与使别人醉酒,那他肯定会因为违反了许多禁酒的命令而有罪恶感。
你觉得耶稣会造出一种酒,如果一个参加婚宴的怀孕的妇女喝了它,就会伤害她腹中的孩子使她得胎儿酒精综合症吗?你觉得我们的主耶稣会给人们一种发酵的酒使男人们贪恋邻居的妻子吗?先在停车场打架,然后又在回家的路上驾车出事等等?
我们就那么难理解耶稣所造的奇迹般的酒是人所尝过的最好的酒,宇宙的创造者(希伯来书1:2)完全能完成这一壮举而不用带着酒精的污染吗?你不觉得基督奇迹的酒不含从太阳来的有害紫外线产生的发酵细菌吗?答案是"当然","当然"。
关于这天堂般奇迹的酒,耶稣在他受难之前,在马太福音26:29节说:
"但我告诉你们:从今以后,我不再喝这葡萄汁,直到我在我父的国里同你们喝新的那日子。"
注意:"喝新的",不单指新鲜压榨的,还指没有人的罪污染的在紫外线导致发酵以前。
常被引用的支持酒精饮料的一节经文是在提摩太前书5:23:
因你胃口不清,屡次患病,再不要照常喝水,可以稍微用点酒。
首先这里没有说这酒是发酵的还是未发酵的。注意未发酵的酒(葡萄汁)有时被医生用于治疗胃部不适。饮酒支持者们当1999年威斯康辛医学院研究认为发酵葡萄酒对身体很有益处(至少这是媒体所宣传的)时觉得受到了维护。这个研究表明,葡萄酒里含有单宁酸和黄酮,它们能够降低胆固醇并溶解血栓。大部分媒体没有报道的是未发酵的葡萄酒(葡萄汁)对健康也有同样的功效。
像其它果汁一样,所有未用巴氏灭菌法灭菌的葡萄酒都在慢慢发酵。比如你买了一加仑未经高温消毒不含防腐剂的苹果汁,把它摆在厨房的面板上,发酵过程随着苹果汁里面的糖被转化成酒精和二氧化碳就开始了。在这个过程中酒精浓度很低时你可以喝它,没什么严重的后果,直到它达到酒精临界点。那时,箴言中提到的"流连饮酒"就开始了。当酒精浓度还很低时,一个人要花很长时间去喝它才会有不良结果,但是当发酵过程完成时,一满杯就能击倒你,箴言中的可怕预言就会实现。适度地喝一杯发酵的酒精饮料也能有同样的效果。
那些提倡适度饮酒观念的人,引用提摩太前书3:8说:
作执事的也是如此:必须端正,不一口两舌,不好喝酒,不贪不义之财。
我们需要读几节它前面的经文,在第二节说:
作监督的,必须无可指责,只作一个妇人的丈夫,有节制,自守、端正,乐意接待远人,善于教导;
端正、端庄(sober)这个词,在《考古学与圣经历史》有如下论述:
新约对于能醉人的饮料的态度,表明在对基督徒的命令中,即要nephalios,翻译为"端正、端庄"。这个词在新约圣经中只用了三次(提摩太前书3:2,11;提多书2:2),但是,它更经常被古代的作者用于意指"不沾染任何的酒",这个词强烈显示新约的观念是要完全禁戒。(摘录完毕)
字典上定义sober是这样:"不沉迷或对使人酒醉的饮料上瘾;饮食节制;不受使人醉酒的饮料的影响。"
最后,引自《考古学与圣经历史》:
总的来说,圣经谴责酒精饮料,确实指责醉酒为犯罪。没有一处是同意适度饮酒的轻度发酵酒的存在并不意味着神认可它的用途为饮料。此外饮用现代的烈性酒精饮料又是另一种情况。所罗门在很久以前的观察,到今天仍然适用:"酒发红,在杯中闪烁,你不可观看,虽然下咽舒畅,终久是咬你如蛇,刺你如毒蛇。"(箴言23:31、32)。【摘录完毕】
基督徒的座右铭应该是:"我们不喝过界的任何酒,"当然那包括不喝所有发酵的和蒸馏的酒精饮料。
神说,箴言23:29-35:
29谁有祸患?谁有忧愁?谁有争斗?谁有哀叹?谁无故受伤?谁眼目红赤?
30就是那流连饮酒,常去寻找调和酒的人。
31.32酒发红,在杯中闪烁,你不可观看,虽然下咽舒畅,终久是咬你如蛇,刺你如毒蛇。
33你眼必看见异怪的事,你心必发出乖谬的话。
34你必像躺在海中,或像卧在桅杆上。
35你必说:"人打我,我却未受伤;人鞭打我,我竟不觉得。我几时清醒,我仍去寻酒。"
人说,适度的一点,一点白酒,一点啤酒,一点威士忌,大麻,可卡因等等,耶稣也造酒,对吧?
现在你看到了记录。

参考书目
《圣经》
《Grapes Into Wine葡萄变成酒》
疾病控制预防中心病态和死亡率周刊,1998,10月9日
Free,J.P.,《考古学与圣经历史》
Funk&Wegnalls《标准综合国际词典》
国家公路交通安全局
OB-GYN News,1998,11月11日,第12页
Small,M.F.,"What You Can Learn From Drunk Monkey从醉酒的猴子你能学到什么",
发现2002.7月
Stern,L.,MD,"你孩子的健康"妇女节,2000.7.11
Webster,N.,"美国英语词典",1828。

访问: 24913

God Said Man Said

Alcohol and Christians

This year, an estimated 100,000 Americans will die as a result of alcohol. This number is nearly twice the number of U.S. soldiers killed in the entire Vietnam War. Alcohol is involved in 50% of all violent crimes as well as 50% of all fatal accidents. Three out of ten U.S. citizens will be involved in an alcohol-related auto accident in their lifetimes.
Recommend To A Friend
Audio Options: MP3

Alcohol and Christians

Article#: 726

A visitor to www.GodSaidManSaid asked, "What about alcoholic beverages and Christians?" A polluted message is coming out of most pulpits concerning this subject. Many Christians are thoroughly confused and some like it that way. Some confessing Christians frequent local watering holes and stock their refrigerators with alcoholic beverages—and many of them have been bound by its power. Lives are being ruined and testimonies destroyed—and it's being done in Jesus' name.

Have you been bound by the power of alcohol or drugs? The Power of Jesus Christ can break that bondage. This deliverance begins at a place Jesus calls "Born Again." This is the place of real, tangible miracles—a place of real, tangible power. Are you ready to be set free? Are you ready for the power to live a Christian life? Click onto "Further With Jesus" for childlike instructions and immediate entry into the Kingdom of God. NOW FOR TODAY’S SUBJECT.

GOD SAID, Proverbs 23:29-35:

29 Who hath woe? who hath sorrow? who hath contentions? who hath babbling? who hath wounds without cause? who hath redness of eyes?

30 They that tarry long at the wine; they that go to seek mixed wine.

31 Look not thou upon the wine when it is red, when it giveth his colour in the cup, when it moveth itself aright.

32 At the last it biteth like a serpent, and stingeth like an adder.

33 Thine eyes shall behold strange women, and thine heart shall utter perverse things.

34 Yea, thou shalt be as he that lieth down in the midst of the sea, or as he that lieth upon the top of a mast.

35 They have stricken me, shalt thou say, and I was not sick; they have beaten me, and I felt it not: when shall I awake? I will seek it yet again.

GOD SAID, Habakkuk 2:15:

Woe unto him that giveth his neighbour drink, that puttest thy bottle to him, and makest him drunken also, that thou mayest look on their nakedness!

GOD SAID, Proverbs 20:1:

Wine is a mocker, strong drink is raging: and whosoever is deceived thereby is not wise.

MAN SAID: A little moderation: a little bit of wine, a little bit of beer, a little bit of whiskey, marijuana, cocaine. Hey, Jesus made wine, didn't He?

Now THE RECORD. In etymology, which is the study of words, a guideline exists known as the rule of first occurrence. The rule basically states that a word's definition is established during the word's first use. The word "drunken" is first found in Genesis 9:21. This is the first account of the existence of alcoholic beverages and of someone suffering the effects of alcohol, and it happened to none other than Noah. Scientists note that Noah was blindsided. He was an expert husbandman, making wine for hundreds of years, but this time, immediately after the worldwide flood, things were not the same. Further on in this feature I will explain. Nevertheless, Noah became drunk and passed out in his tent. His son Ham, in the presence of his brothers, showed disrespect to his father concerning this matter. When Noah awoke, being aware of what Ham did, he cursed Ham's son Canaan. This young man went on to populate the land of Canaan, which today is the land of Israel. These people, as well as the Ishmaelites and other Arabian people, presently reside in the Middle East, and are participating in the region's terrible turmoil. They will find themselves complicit in bringing about the great and horrendous battle of Armageddon. Imagine, the linage of the first occurrence of alcoholic beverages will be participating in the battle of Armageddon.

The devastating effects of alcohol are, in fact, like an Armageddon on the world's population. This feature was first published in the year 2002. The statistics cited are from the United States and are relatively accurate data. The effects of alcohol in many other nations, I'm sure, are as bad—or even worse—than those of the U.S. The current population of the United States is estimated at 307,673,950. Consider these facts: 13 million adult Americans are alcoholics and another 76 million are adversely affected by its results. This year, an estimated 100,000 Americans will die as a result of alcohol. This number is nearly twice the number of U.S. soldiers killed in the entire Vietnam War. Alcohol is involved in 50% of all violent crimes as well as 50% of all fatal accidents. Three out of ten U.S. citizens will be involved in an alcohol-related auto accident in their lifetimes. Imagine: it is estimated that the U.S. forks out 167 billion dollars a year as a result of the damages of alcohol. One out of four of America's children resides in an alcohol-abusive home and suffers psychosomatic illnesses. Today it is estimated that 11 million U.S. children and adolescents are drinking alcoholic beverages. Consider the broken hearts of deserted mothers, fathers and children: consider the broken homes, the adultery, rape, fornication, and other woes that are caused by consuming alcoholic beverages.

Another terrible devastation caused by alcohol is the attacking of the unborn in the mother's womb. It is called Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. It can be caused by a mother drinking as little as one alcoholic beverage during pregnancy. It is the number-one cause of birth defects and renders its children with IQs 13 to 16 points lower than their non-affected counterparts. Many cases of mental retardation are the result of Fetal Alcohol Syndrome.

Drinking kills neurons, causes cancer, destroys livers, damages the ability to discern between right and wrong, and so on.  This problem is considerably worse in much of the world's populations. Surely it is an Armageddon of its own.

With this phenomenal weight of witnesses testifying against the consumption of alcohol, why does so much Biblical confusion appear to exist? Let's take a look.

The Word of God speaks about wine and strong drink. (Wine is the main focus of this article.) I wrote earlier that Noah was the first man in recorded history to become drunken and that scientists say that this righteous man was blindsided, and here's the reason why: The natural fermentation process that causes the juice of the grape, for instance, to ferment, is a result of atmospheric changes that took place during the days of Noah. Prior to the great Noahitic flood, a water canopy encompassed the earth.  This water canopy was destroyed by God and cast down to the earth. It has since been replaced with an ozone layer. According to scientists, the banished water canopy would have filtered out the ultraviolet killer rays from the sun. For one thing, UV rays cause bacteria (a natural yeast) to form on the grapes in the field as well as on all other fruits, which in turn causes the juice to ferment. Prior to Noah, these UV rays were blocked by God's water canopy. Consequently, Noah would have been unaware of the dangers of fermentation.

The process of fermentation takes place when the yeast, which is a product of UV rays, acts on the sugar in the fruit, converting it first into alcohol and carbon dioxide gas, and then, unless its protected from the air, into vinegar. In 1790, the Cistercian monks discovered that by adding sugar they could markedly increase the alcohol content of the wine. In addition, most of today's wine makers add a yeast starter to the naturally occurring yeast in the juice to spike alcohol content yet higher.

In Proverbs 23:31, it reads:

Look not thou upon the wine when it is red, when it giveth his colour in the cup, when it moveth itself aright.

In other words, don't drink the wine after it has fermented. Also, the wine God commanded us not to drink had a very low alcoholic content because of the low levels of sugar in the grapes of the Middle East in comparison to today's alcoholic beverages. According to the history book Archaeology and Bible History, actual wine and beer in ancient Palestine contained not more than five to eight percent alcohol due to the limitation of natural sugar in the grape's juice and the malt which was used.

Some of the confusion concerning the drinking of alcoholic beverages is that many erroneously think that the word "wine" in the Bible strictly refers to the fermented juice of the grape. A simple search of the scriptures, however, reveals that unfermented grape juice is called wine as well as the fermented juice. This is shown in the following Scripture passages:

Isaiah 65:8:

Thus saith the Lord, As the new wine is found in the cluster, and one saith, Destroy it not; for a blessing is in it: so will I do for my servants' sakes, that I may not destroy them all.

Micah 6:15:

Thou shalt sow, but thou shalt not reap; thou shalt tread the olives, but thou shalt not anoint thee with oil; and sweet wine, but shalt not drink wine.

Proverbs 3:10:

So shall thy barns be filled with plenty, and thy presses shall burst out with new wine.

Hosea 9:2:

The floor and the winepress shall not feed them, and the new wine shall fail in her.

Joel 2:24:

And the floors shall be full of wheat, and the vats shall overflow with wine and oil.

Please note that it is called wine as it comes forth from the wine press.

It should be no surprise that a particular word has more than one meaning. For instance, milk could refer to mother's milk, cow's milk, the sweet milk of human kindness, and so forth.

In the Old Testament, there are two Hebrew words which are both translated into English as the word wine. The first word, tirosh, occurs 38 times and it means, "must, fresh or new wine." The word must is defined as, "the expressed unfermented juice of the grape." Again from the text book Archaeology and Bible History, the following excerpt deals with the two Hebrew words translated as wine. It begins by explaining the word tirosh:

Examination of the use of this word shows that is does not refer to a fermented drink. Eleven times it speaks of wine as a first fruit fresh from the harvest, usually in the phrase, "corn, wine, and oil," and obviously refers to grape juice. Seventeen times it is used with grain and oil, as natural products of the field, again clearly implying grape juice. In three places tirosh is said to be filling the presses, obviously referring to freshly pressed juice (Joel 2:24, Hosea 9:2, and Prov. 3:10). Isaiah 65:8 pictures tirosh as being still in the cluster of grapes, and Micah 6:15 is the clearest of all, mentioning tirosh as the material from which fermented wine is formed. Only in one place is there any association between tirosh and wickedness (Hosea 4:11), "Whoredom and wine (yayin) and new wine (tirosh) take away the heart." Even here in this particular context there is no mention of actual drunkenness and no suggestion that tirosh in itself is intoxicating.

It is clear, then, that tirosh is regularly used in the sense of "grape juice," a beverage with no appreciable content of alcohol.

Concerning the second Hebrew word, yayin, it goes on to say:

Yayin is the most common word for wine in the Old Testament, occurring one hundred thirty-five times, and clearly means fermented wine. At least thirty times yayin is definitely associated with drunkenness, and its use is more or less condemned; it was prohibited to the Nazarites (Num. 6:3); Daniel refused the king's yayin (Dan. 1:8). About half the passages mentioning yayin in the Old Testament are clearly denunciatory. In some places, it is mentioned merely as a natural product without praise or blame, just as polygamy is referred to at times without specified condemnation being given at that reference. An examination of passages supposed to support the use of yayin shows that they really do not give such support: the use of yayin in making the drink offering does not support partaking of wine, for this offering was not drunk; [End of quote]

(Please note: this drink offering was never consumed, but was poured out before the Lord, just as all things detrimental to human health were commanded by God to not be consumed; i.e. the fat, the blood, the dung, the caul above the liver.)

As in the Old Testament, the word wine in the New Testament can mean unfermented or fermented wine. When Ephesians 5:18, says, "And be not drunk with wine," it refers to fermented wine. Wine, then, can be fermented or unfermented.

Now concerning the marriage supper in Cana where Jesus turned water into wine, there is one very obvious reason that certifies that Jesus, in fact, did not create fermented wine and that reason is that the Lord Jesus Christ was sinless. Had He created fermented wine and contributed to the drunkenness of others, He would have been guilty of disobeying the many commandments forbidding it.

Do you suppose Jesus would have created wine that, if consumed by a pregnant woman attending the marriage supper, could have harmed her unborn child with fetal alcohol syndrome? Do you suppose that our Lord Jesus would have given the people fermented wine causing men to lust after their neighbors' wives, fist-fight in the parking lot, and wreck their chariots on the way home?

Would it be so hard to fathom that the miracle wine Jesus produced would be the finest wine that man has ever tasted and that the Creator of the universe (Hebrews 1:2) could accomplish this feat without the contamination of alcohol? Wouldn't you suppose that Christ's miracle wine would be free of fermenting bacteria caused by harmful UV rays from the sun? The answers are "of course" and "of course."

In regard to the heavenly miracle wine, Jesus comments in Matthew 26:29, just before His crucifixion:

But I say unto you, I will not drink henceforth of this fruit of the vine, until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father's kingdom.

Note, "...when I drink it new..." not only inferring freshly-pressed wine but wine before the contamination caused by man's sin—before the UV rays that cause fermentation.

A verse commonly cited to support alcoholic beverages is I Timothy 5:23:

Drink no longer water, but use a little wine for thy stomach's sake and thine often infirmities.

First, the passage does not suggest that this wine is fermented or not. It should be noted that unfermented wine (grape juice) is sometimes prescribed by doctors for stomach disorders. Proponents of alcoholic consumption felt vindicated when a 1999 University of Wisconsin Medical School study ascribed great health benefits to fermented wine—at least that's how much of the media reported it. The research revealed that in wine are found tannins and flavinoids that diminish cholesterol and may fight blood-clotting. What most media failed to report is that unfermented wine (grape juice) has the very same health benefits.

As with other juices, all wine that is not pasteurized will be in a process of fermentation. If, for instance, you purchase a gallon of unpasteurized apple cider without preservatives and leave it on the kitchen counter, the process of fermentation—the sugar of the apple juice being converted to alcohol and carbon dioxide gas—would begin. You can drink it as it progresses and the very low levels of alcohol will have no serious effect until it reaches critical alcohol mass. So then the mention in Proverbs, "...long at the wine;...," comes into play. While the alcohol content is at a very low level, in order for it to have a negative effect, one would have to spend a long time drinking it, but when the fermentation process is complete, one water-glass full can knock you on your backside and the terrible predictions of Proverbs 23 will come to pass. So much then for the moderate drinking of fully-fermented alcoholic beverages.

Those who promote the concept of moderation, citing verses such as I Timothy 3:8, which reads:

Likewise must the deacons be grave, not doubletongued, not given to much wine, not greedy of filthy lucre;

need to read a few verses above that, in verse two which reads:

A bishop then must be blameless, the husband of one wife, vigilant, sober, of good behaviour, given to hospitality, apt to teach;

This word, sober, is discussed in the following paragraph in Archaeology and Bible History:

The New Testament attitude toward intoxicating drink is shown by the injunction for Christians to be nephalios, translated "sober." This word is used only three times in the New Testament (I Tim. 3:2,11, and Titus 2:2), but it is used regularly in the classical authors meaning "free from all wine." This word shows strongly that the New Testament ideal is total abstinence.  [End of quote]

The dictionary defines sober as: "not given or addicted to the use of intoxicating beverages; abstinent; free from the influence of intoxicating beverages."

Finally, from Archaeology and Bible History:

In summary, we are left with the Biblical condemnation of alcoholic drink, and a definite denunciation of drunkenness as sin. Nowhere is moderate drinking given approval. The existence of light fermented wine does not mean that God sanctioned its use for beverage purposes. Furthermore, a different situation exists today with the use of modern strong alcoholic beverages. Solomon's observation of long ago is just as applicable today, if not more so: "Look not thou upon the wine when it is red . . . at the last it biteth like a serpent and stingeth like an adder" (Prov. 23:31,32). [End of quote]

The Christians' motto should simply be, "We drink no wine that's past the line," and of course that includes all fermented or distilled alcoholic beverages.

GOD SAID, Proverbs 23:29-35:

29 Who hath woe? who hath sorrow? who hath contentions? who hath babbling? who hath wounds without cause? who hath redness of eyes?

30 They that tarry long at the wine; they that go to seek mixed wine.

31 Look not thou upon the wine when it is red, when it giveth his colour in the cup, when it moveth itself aright.

32 At the last it biteth like a serpent, and stingeth like an adder.

33 Thine eyes shall behold strange women, and thine heart shall utter perverse things.

34 Yea, thou shalt be as he that lieth down in the midst of the sea, or as he that lieth upon the top of a mast.

35 They have stricken me, shalt thou say, and I was not sick; they have beaten me, and I felt it not: when shall I awake? I will seek it yet again.

GOD SAID, Habakkuk 2:15:

Woe unto him that giveth his neighbour drink, that puttest thy bottle to him, and makest him drunken also, that thou mayest look on their nakedness!

GOD SAID, Proverbs 20:1:

Wine is a mocker, strong drink is raging: and whosoever is deceived thereby is not wise.

MAN SAID: A little moderation: a little bit of wine, a little bit of beer, a little bit of whiskey, marijuana, cocaine. Hey, Jesus made wine, didn't He?

Now you have THE RECORD.




References:

Authorized King James Version

Book, Grapes Into Wine

Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, October 09, 1998

Free, J.P., Archaeology and Bible History

Funk & Wagnalls Standard Comprehensive International Dictionary

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

OB-GYN News, November 11, 1998, p12

Small, M.F., "What You Can Learn From Drunk Monkeys," Discover, July 2002

Stern, L., MD, "Your Child's Health," Woman's Day, July 11, 2000

Webster, N., American Dictionary of the English Language, 1828

Visits: 40547