神说人说

心灵(一)

你可以肯定不久关于人类理解心脏思想的调研就会扩展开来,根据经文所说,心脏思考和处理我们情绪带来的反应。
推荐给好友
更多音频文件: MP3

心灵(一)

(文章编号: 1138)

神的道远超过古代的历史和少数几个只想欺骗你的人的作品。它是如此的深奥以致一半的读者理解不了。局外人----陌生人-----从来都不会知道。一个亲密的动作首先是要享受它,经文的启示有与生俱来的事实,门徒们在《马太福音》13:1016节问耶稣为什么他用比喻讲话:
10 门徒进前来,问耶稣说:对众人讲话为什么用比喻呢?
11 耶稣回答说:因为天国的奥秘,只叫你们知道,不叫他们知道,
12 凡有的,还要加给他,叫他有余;凡没有的,连他有的也要夺去
13 所以我用比喻对你们讲,是因他们看也看不见,听也听不见,也不明白。
14 在他们身上,正应了以赛亚的预言,说,你们听事要听见,却不明白;看是要看见,却不晓得。
15 因为这百姓油蒙了心,耳朵发沉,眼睛闭着;恐怕眼睛看见,耳朵听见,心里明白,回转过来,我就一直他们。
16 但你们的眼睛是有福的,因为看见了,你们的耳朵也是有福的,因为听见了。
上帝救恩和真理的启示不是偶然的、千金难买的,但是会临到那些全心寻求、准备好跟随上帝的人。
《箴言》22:29节,
你看见办事殷勤的人吗?他必站在君王面前,必不站在下贱人面前。
如果站在君王面前的必须是殷勤人,你觉得站在万王之王面前如果不殷勤会怎么样?这种殷勤不是人类的产物,而是由上帝的灵提供和支持的。
重生的启示只是一种方式,耶稣把这个地方叫做重生,他在《约翰福音》3:3节说,
..我实实在在告诉你,人若不重生,就不能见神的国。
这就是救恩开始的时候,在此,你变成了上帝的儿子或女儿:和睦的家庭中的孩子。启示的这个地方不能通过知识到达,相反地,而是通过孩子般的信心。耶稣在《马太福音》18:3节说:
我实在告诉你们,你们若不回转,变成小孩子的样式断不得进天国。
你准备好用全心来寻求了吗?你渴慕上帝真理的纯正启示吗?你愿意让自己所有的罪和羞耻都被抹掉吗?你想要有一个永生的理由吗?神说人说有一个好消息给你,上帝的话语告诉我们那一天就是得救的一天,点击进入Further With Jesus查看初信的介绍立即承受神的国,现在是今天的课题。
神说,《箴言》17:22节,
喜乐的心,乃是良药;忧伤的灵,使骨枯干。
神说,《箴言》15:15节,
困苦人的日子都是愁苦,心中欢畅的,常享丰筵。
神说,《马太福音》12:34节,
毒蛇的种类!你们既是恶人,怎能说出好话来呢?因为心里所充满的,口里就说出来。
神说,《箴言》16:9节,
人心筹算自己的道路,惟耶和华指引他的脚步。
神说,《创世记》6:5节,
耶和华见人在地上罪恶很大, 终日所思想的尽都是恶。
人说,心没有认知能力,圣经的记录只是比喻,如果真是那样的话,也不能按照字面意思解释。
现在是录音。现在就是最后的日子,遍地充满罪恶,很多人的爱心被浇冷。耶稣关于在末后的日子,《马太福音》24:2122节说,
21 因为那是必有大灾难,从世界的起头直到如今,没有这样的灾难,后来也必没有。
22 若不减少那日子,凡有血气的,总没有一个得救的,只是为选民,那日子必减少了。
危险的日子,呆在那里是很危险的。
关于心由三个部分组成,心在整个永生中起着一个中心的作用。《罗马书》10:10节说,
因为人心里相信,就可以称义;口里承认,就可以得救。
这是一个非常有权柄的系列,谢谢你来到这里,在这个系列中,我们将重温圣经的概念,让科学再一次证明经文的完全正确性,证明上帝是全知全能的,会奖赏那些寻求他的人。
第一部分明白心可以快乐也可以忧伤,它是人类灵魂思想和功能的一部分。
第二部分将处理心和它在灵魂中的位置,我们同样也会发掘怎样保守它。
第三部分将讨论怎样满足心的需要以确保胜利占优势地位。
这难道不是很奇妙吗?当科学发现了一个真理就在世界上大肆宣传,同样是真理,上帝的道已近存在了数千年,没有人认为有必要提一提吗?一些努力的领域会把这样的事情叫做剽窃。
我们心里的想法会决定我们和我们的将来。
上帝说喜乐的心就像良药,忧伤的灵使骨枯干,记住,这段话已经在数千年以前就被写下来了,是在科学开始探索真理之前写下来的。我们身体的骨骼在生活中起到了很重要的作用,它的角色远远超过了器官和肉身,在骨骼的里面有一种软软的、潮湿的东西我们叫它骨髓,骨髓造出我们身体所需的一切血细胞。血细胞在骨髓里作为干细胞开始的生命,这些干细胞经过分解以后形成了各种各样的细胞来补充我们的血液和免疫系统。在骨髓外面有红细胞,它们能够给身体带来氧气和营养物质。白细胞可以抗感染。如果没有骨髓,人类生命也就不会存在了。
骨骼的奇妙之处在于它坚硬如铁,却轻巧如铝,肋骨、椎骨、胸骨和盆骨的松质骨里面都有骨髓,是活动忙碌进行的发源地。想象一下,每秒钟200万红细胞在身体的骨髓里生成同时又进行着交换,红细胞把氧气和营养物质带给身体,白细胞抗击病毒,而它们都是在潮湿的骨髓中开始的。
对白细胞和免疫系统研究的新领域叫做心理神经免疫学或者神经免疫调节作用。研究发现,压力、失望、忧愁、伤心、消极思想、生气..等等,会对白细胞产生直接的消极影响,相反的,高兴、喜悦、平静、积极的思想会对白细胞和红细胞的生产和活动有积极的催进作用,记住了,红细胞会给身体带来氧气和营养物质,白细胞抗击病毒和疾病。
Lee Berk博士是一位来自罗马琳达大学医学临床免疫学的调研者,他出示了笑声降低血清皮质醇的水平。皮质醇是人体内战斗的反应,但是它们中的许多可以抑制免疫系统,甚至关闭袭击威胁生命的微生物和抑制恶性细胞进入肿瘤的过程。笑还可以增加T淋巴细胞的数量,增加自然杀死细胞的数量和活动,增加带给感觉器官帮助和支持的T细胞的数量。
我们的第一道防御感染的器官试着通过呼吸道来活动,就是唾液免疫球蛋白A,调研显示当一个人的消极情绪严重的时候,唾液免疫蛋白球A就会减少,而当一个人有积极的心态是,唾液免疫蛋白球就会增加。喜乐的心像良药,Berk博士的调研早期引用显示了,笑可以帮助自然杀伤细胞的生产,而这些自然杀伤细胞可以预防呼吸道感染,例如肺炎和支气管炎。笑可以推动能量水平,锻炼器官,增强循环功能,几秒钟的笑就跟做一分钟的有氧运动一样有效。
William Fry博士是加利福尼亚斯坦福大学医学院的一位退休精神科医学教授,在笑能带来的很多益处中成功的研究了笑对于释放的益处,能够增加抗病毒的白细胞的活动。记着,圣经上说,喜乐的心如同良药。
下面这段话摘自《妇女家庭杂志》中的一篇文章,题目叫做《30天更自信》:
最新的科学研究发现,我们的所有思想都能给我们的身体制造出化学物质,被叫做神经肽,高兴的情绪所创造的化学物质增进身体的健康,消极的情绪则是降低身体的健康。(引用结束)
注意,情绪可以产生实质的东西,例如化学物质。
我们的上帝创造了身体,并且在圣经中以他自己的方式给了我们很清楚的说明,告诉我们应该有一个怎样的生命。高兴、欢悦、喜乐、鼓舞、积极和爱的情绪能够让我们的骨髓生产出更多的白、红血细胞,红细胞带来氧气和生命,白细胞抵抗感染病毒,数千年以前人类就在构想着这样的智慧,上帝说喜乐的心如同良药----一个医师只能梦想复制这种良药。
最后引用的是在《美国周刊》1997年6月1日上一个大标题关于喜乐的心。这样写到:更多的医生这样坚持:笑是个神奇的良药,有些甚至还给笑开了处方。不幸的是,喜乐的心变得越来越罕见了。根据2002年世界健康组织的报道,沮丧仅仅居心血管疾病之下,是导致死亡和失去生产力的第二大因素, 《箴言》17:22节的后半节说:.忧伤的灵,使骨枯干。
可能接下来你听到的会使你震惊,在《今日心理学》里面有一篇文章,题目是《忧伤的歌使骨销毁》,这项由Ulrich Schweiger博士指挥进行的调研被Max Planck精神研究所引用。Schweiger测量了住院男性、女性以及从沮丧中恢复的21个病人等18种沮丧骨骼的密度,所有人在40岁以前结束调研,结果是令人震惊的。这项调研在两年之间进行,在第二年的年末,Schweiger比较了两个组骨骼的密度,沮丧病人比恢复的病人失去更多的骨质,下面是从Schweiger博士那里直接引用过来的,他说:(由他提供)压力大的男性和死亡率增加之间有重要的联系
《箴言》17:22节,
喜乐的心,乃是良药;忧伤的灵,使骨枯干。
接下来我们将学习怎样保持一颗喜乐的心。
心真的在思考吗?经文涉及到心精确的次数真是884次吗?答案当然是肯定的!
下面这段是摘自Don Colbert博士在2003发表的《致命情绪》:
这怎么可能呢?最近几年神经系统科学家们已经发现心有它自己独立的神经系统,一个人的心里至少存在了4万神经细胞,这跟大脑中心皮下组织(在大脑皮层之下)发现的数目是一样的。换句话说,心远远不仅仅是一个生物泵,这些丰裕的细胞给它一个思考、感觉的能力。
心的智力和神经系统给在头盖骨里的大脑反复传播信息,在这两个器官之间建立了一个双向通信道。20世界70年代,费尔斯研究院的生理学家John和Beatrice Lacey在当下关于大脑流行的理论中发现了一个瑕疵。当下流行的说法就是大脑给全身做决定,Lacey的调研指出了另外的一些方面。
特别指出,调研者们发现当大脑通过神经系统向心脏发出指令的时候,心不是自动的服从,相反的,有时心脏看起来会对它接受到的信息做出一个考虑的反应。有的时候大脑对外部刺激向身体发出一个激励信号的反应时,心脏会向预期的那样将它加速。然而在另外一些场合,当所有的器官都被唤醒的时候,心脏却减慢了速度。
关于心脏选择性的反应Lacey的建议是,心脏并不是机械性的对大脑的信号做出反应,而是有它自己跟大脑回馈交流的选择性。
在Lacey的调研中更有趣的事实就是,心脏送给大脑的信息好像大脑不仅完全理解而且完全服从。实际上,心脏和大脑保持着很好的对话关系,有的时候心脏服从大脑,而在另外一些场合,大脑却服从心脏。从心脏发出来的信息好像影响到了个体的行为举止。
还是Colbert博士的话:
然而,心脏跟身体交流最有能力的渠道就是通过心脏的电磁场,大约比大脑产生的电磁场强5千倍。
科学家们把心脏通过脑波传给大脑的电子信息叫做脑电图(EEG),亚利桑那州大学的Gary Schwartz和他的同事们发现他们神经学或者已建立交流途径的实验能解释脑波中心脏复杂的形式。换句话说,有点像二次大战中的军事密码。这些调研者们不得不学习心灵的语言。他们的数据显示,心脏和大脑之间的电磁上之间存在着直接的相互作用。
最后,Colbert博士的话:
作家兼科学家的Paul Pearsall描述了一件事情,这件事情发生在田纳西的休斯顿他跟一个国际的心理学家、精神病专家以及地方工作者组成的小组谈话的时候。他正在说在精神上和生活上心都起着中心作用的观点,一个内科医生站起来拿起麦克风分享她自己的故事,下面是她告诉Pearsall博士以及在座各位的故事:
我有一个病人,是一个八岁的小女孩,她接受了一个被谋杀的十岁小女孩的心脏,她的妈妈带她来看病,她常常在夜里尖叫,因为梦到一个男人来杀害她的这位捐赠者,妈妈说她的女儿知道这是谁。经过几次的交谈,我无法否认孩子告诉我的这个事实,她的妈妈和我最终决定打电话给警察,警察通过孩子描述最终找到的杀人凶手,由于我病人的证词这个人很快就被定罪了。时间、凶器、地点、他穿的衣服、被他杀害的小女孩跟他说了什么这颗小小的被移植的心脏所说的一切都是那么的精确。(引用结束)
你可以肯定不久关于人类理解心脏思想的调研就会扩展开来,根据经文所说,心脏思考和处理我们情绪带来的反应。爱情使人盲目,这则古老的谚语意思就是理性思维被拒绝而心作出决定,很明显这是真确的,心脏有它自己的意识。
心可以愉悦可以说话,结果就表现在现实的方式上,是的,心脏可以思考,而且就像上帝所说的那样在我们的日常生活中起着一个具有认知能力的作用,数千年以后的今天,科学确认了这一点。转向真理吧。
神说,《箴言》17:22节,
喜乐的心,乃是良药;忧伤的灵,使骨枯干。
神说,《箴言》15:15节,
困苦人的日子都是愁苦,心中欢畅的,常享丰筵。
神说,《马太福音》12:34节,
毒蛇的种类!你们既是恶人,怎能说出好话来呢?因为心里所充满的,口里就说出来。
神说,《箴言》16:9节,
人心筹算自己的道路,惟耶和华指引他的脚步。
神说,《创世记》6:5节,
耶和华见人在地上罪恶很大, 终日所思想的尽都是恶。
人说,心没有认知能力,圣经的记录只是比喻,如果真是那样的话,也不能按照字面意思解释。
现在你已经有了录音。

参考资料:
References:
詹姆斯版圣经
Authorized King James Version
Colbert, D., M.D.,致命情绪 Thomas Nelson Publishers, Nashville

Colbert, D., M.D., Deadly Emotions, Thomas Nelson Publishers, Nashville
Fackelmann, K.,皮质腺联系《科学新闻》1997年11月29日第152卷
Fackelmann, K., The Cortisol Connection,Science News, vol. 152, Nov. 29, 1997
Martin, R. A. & J. P. Dobbin,幽默感、激战和免疫蛋白球A:幽默缓和压力的证据1985年《国际精神病医学杂志》
Martin, R. A. & J. P. Dobbin, Sense of Humor, Hassels and Immunoglobin A: Evidence For a Stress-Moderating Effect of Humor,International Journal of Psychiatry in Medicine, 1985
国际骨髓移植连接
National Bone Marrow Transplant Link
Rogers, J.,忧伤的歌使骨销毁《今日心理学》2000年5月/6月
Rogers, J., The Blues Are a Bone-Breaker,Psychology Today, May/June 2000
Wooten, P.,幽默应力解毒剂1996年
Wooten, P., Humor an Antidote for Stress, 1996
世界健康组织《发现杂志》2000年10月
World Health Organization,Discovermagazine, Oct., 2000

访问: 3182

God Said Man Said

The Heart Series, Part One

God speaks of a merry heart doing good like a medicine, and that a broken spirit dries up the bones. Remember, this passage was authored thousands of years before science began to certify its truth. Emerging scientific research shows that the thoughts of our hearts will define us and our future.
Recommend To A Friend
Audio Options: MP3

The Heart Series, Part One

Article#: 1138

The Word of God is so much more than ancient history or the writings of mere men as some would put upon you.  It is so phenomenally much more than the casual reader could ever comprehend.  Outsiders—strangers—can never know.  An intimacy must first be enjoined.  The revelation of the scriptures is in fact a birthright.  The disciples asked Jesus why He spoke in parables in Matthew 13:10-16:

10  And the disciples came, and said unto him, Why speakest thou unto them in parables?

11  He answered and said unto them, Because it is given unto you to know the mysteries of the kingdom of heaven, but to them it is not given.

12  For whosoever hath, to him shall be given, and he shall have more abundance: but whosoever hath not, from him shall be taken away even that he hath.

13  Therefore speak I to them in parables: because they seeing see not; and hearing they hear not, neither do they understand.

14  And in them is fulfilled the prophecy of Esaias, which saith, By hearing ye shall hear, and shall not understand; and seeing ye shall see, and shall not perceive:

15  For this people's heart is waxed gross, and their ears are dull of hearing, and their eyes they have closed; lest at any time they should see with their eyes and hear with their ears, and should understand with their heart, and should be converted, and I should heal them.

16  But blessed are your eyes, for they see: and your ears, for they hear.

God’s revelation of salvation and truth cannot be attained casually or without price.  But, it is reached by them who seek with all their hearts, coming prepared to follow Jesus. 

Proverbs 22:29:

Seest thou a man diligent in his business? he shall stand before kings; he shall not stand before mean men.

If the diligent stand before kings, what do you think is required to stand before the king of kings if it is not diligence upon diligence?  This diligence is not a product of man.  It is supplied by the Spirit of God.

Revelation by birth is the only way.  Jesus calls this place “born again.”  Jesus said in John 3:3:

...Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born again, he cannot see the kingdom of God.

This is when revelation begins.  At this juncture, you become a son or daughter of God: the intimacy of family.  This place of revelation is not reached through scholarship.  To the contrary, it is reached through childlike faith.  Jesus said in Matthew 18:3:

...Verily I say unto you, Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven.

Are you ready to seek with all your heart?  Do you desire the pure revelation of God’s truth?  Would you like to have all your sin and shame erased?  Would you like a reason to live that is eternal?  Today, do you want to be born into the house of God?  GodSaidManSaid has good news for you.  The Word of God tells us that today is the day of salvation.  Click onto “Further With Jesus” for childlike instructions and immediate entry into the Kingdom of God.  NOW FOR TODAY’S SUBJECT.

GOD SAID, Proverbs 17:22:

A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.

GOD SAID, Proverbs 15:15:

All the days of the afflicted are evil: but he that is of a merry heart hath a continual feast.

GOD SAID, Matthew 12:34:

O generation of vipers, how can ye, being evil, speak good things? for out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh.

GOD SAID, Proverbs 16:9:

A man's heart deviseth his way: but the LORD directeth his steps.

GOD SAID, Genesis 6:5:

And God saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

MAN SAID: The heart has no cognitive skills.  The Bible’s accounts are to be taken metaphorically, if at all, and certainly not to be taken literally.

Now THE RECORD.  These are the very last days.  Wickedness abounds and the love of many is waxing cold.  Jesus said of the very last days in Matthew 24:21-22:

21  For then shall be great tribulation, such as was not since the beginning of the world to this time, no, nor ever shall be.

22  And except those days should be shortened, there should no flesh be saved: but for the elect's sake those days shall be shortened.

These are dangerous times.  Staying close is critical. 

This is a three-part series concerning the heart.  The heart plays a very central role in eternal life.  Romans 10:10:

For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.

This is a most powerful series.  Thank you for coming.  In this series, we will revisit Biblical concepts and allow science to again confirm the inerrancy of Holy Scripture and again confirm that God is that this God is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.

Part One establishes that the heart can be made merry or sad, and that it’s a thinking, functioning part of the human psyche.

Part Two will deal with the heart and its place in life’s spiritual nomenclature.  We will also discover how to keep it.

Part Three will address how to feed a heart and ensure dominant victory.

Isn’t it amazing that when science discovers a marvelous truth it’s ballyhooed around the world, yet the same truth, which has been in the Word of God for thousands of years, is not considered necessary to mention?  Some fields of endeavor would call such a thing plagiarism.

The thoughts of our hearts will define us and our future.

God speaks of a merry heart doing good like a medicine, and that a broken spirit dries up the bones.  Remember, this passage was authored thousands of years before science began to certify its truth.

The bones in our bodies are key to excellent living and their role is much more than simply structure to hang organs and flesh upon.  Inside our bones is found a spongy, moist tissue called bone marrow where all of our body’s blood cells are produced.  The blood cells begin life in the moist marrow as stem cells.  These stem cells divide and form the various cells that make up our blood and immune system.  Out of this moist bone marrow come red blood cells which carry oxygen and nutrients to the body, and also the white blood cells that fight infection.  Without bone marrow there could be no human life.

The amazing bone is strong as steel but light as aluminum, and inside the cancellous bones of the ribs, vertebrae, sternum, and pelvis is bone marrow, a moist hive of activity.  Imagine, two million red blood cells are being replaced every second and they’re being generated in the body’s bone marrow.  The red blood cells carry oxygen and nutrients to the body and the white blood cells defend against disease.  Both find their beginnings in moist bone marrow.

New fields of study have arisen concerning white blood cells and immune system malfunction called “psychoneuroimmunology” or “neuroimmunomodulation.”  It is now known that stress, depression, sorrow, grief, negative thoughts, anger, etc., have a direct, negative effect on white blood cells.  Conversely, happy, joyful, restful, positive thoughts have a direct, positive effect on white and red blood cell production and activity.  Remember, red blood cells bring oxygen and nutrients to the body, and white blood cells defend against disease and sickness.

Dr. Lee Berk, a researcher at Loma Linda University School of Medicine’s Department of Clinical Immunology, has shown that laughter lowers serum cortisol levels.  Cortisol is part of the body’s fight-or-flight response, but much of it can dampen immune response and shut down the very process that attacks life-threatening microbes or the process that keeps malignant cells from proliferating into an invasive tumor.  Laughter also increases the amount of activated T lymphocytes, increases the number and activity of natural killer cells, and increases the number of T cells that carry helper and suppressor receptors.  Simply put, the immune system is positively benefited by laughter.

Our first line of defense against infectious organisms trying to enter through our respiratory tract is salivary immunoglobulin A.  Confirmed research shows that salivary immunoglobulin A is lower when one is in a negative mood and higher on days when one is in a positive mood.  A merry heart doeth good like a medicine.  Dr. Berk’s research cited earlier also shows that laughter helps boost the production of NK cells, which fight upper respiratory infections, such as pneumonia and bronchitis.  Laughter boosts energy levels, strengthens organs, and increases circulatory capacity.  A few seconds of laughter could be as good as one minute of aerobic exercise.

Dr. William Fry, an emeritus associate clinical professor of psychiatry at Stanford University Medical School in California, weighs in with studies on laughter that reveal, among its many other benefits, that laughter produces increased activity of white blood cells, which fight disease.  Remember what the Bible records: A merry heart doeth good like medicine.

The following is an excerpt from an article in Ladies Home Journal, titled “30 Days to More Self-esteem:”

The latest scientific research shows that all our thoughts create chemicals in our body, called neuropeptides.  Happy thoughts produce chemicals that actually strengthen the body, and negative thoughts produce chemicals that weaken the body.  [End of quote]

Note that spiritual things such as thoughts produce physical things such as chemicals.

Our God, who created the body, gives explicit instructions in His owner’s manual, the Bible, concerning the attitude from which we should approach life.  Happy, cheerful, joyous, courageous, positive, and loving thoughts cause our bone marrow to produce red and white blood cells prolifically.  The red blood cells bring oxygen and life, and the white blood cells destroy infectious disease.  Thousands of years before man conceived this wisdom, God declared that a merry heart doeth good like a medicine—a medicine man can only dream of duplicating.

A final quote concerning a merry heart was found in a sub-headline in a USA Weekend tabloid dated May 30-June 1, 1997.  It reads, “More doctors insist: Laughter is a miracle drug.  Now some are even prescribing it.”  Unfortunately, the merry heart is becoming more and more scarce.  According to the World Health Organization, by the year 2020, depression will likely be the second leading cause of death and lost productivity, right behind cardiovascular disease.  The other half of Proverbs 17:22 says, “...but a broken spirit drieth the bones.”

You'll be amazed at what you hear next.  In an article in Psychology Today titled, “The Blues Are A Bone-Breaker,” research conducted by Dr. Ulrich Schweiger of the Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry in Germany was cited.  Schweiger measured bone density of 18 depressed, hospitalized men and women and another group of 21 patients who were free of depression.  All were over the age of 40.  The results were shocking.  The research took place over a period of two years.  At the end of two years, Schweiger compared the bone density of both groups.  The depressed patients lost significantly more bone mass than the non-depressed.  The following is a direct quote from Dr. Schweiger.  He said, [It provides] “a vital link in explaining the increased mortality observed particularly in men with major depression.”

Proverbs 17:22:

A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.

We will learn in the two following features how to maintain a merry heart.

Does the heart really think?  Could the scriptures that refer to the attributes of the heart 884 times be accurate in the most literal form?  Of course the answer is yes!

The following excerpts are from Deadly Emotions, by Dr. Don Colbert, published in 2003:

How can this be?  In recent years neuroscientists have discovered that the heart has its own independent nervous system.  At least forty thousand nerve cells (neurons) exist in a human heart.  That’s the same amount found in various subcortical (beneath the cerebral cortex) centers of the brain.  In other words, the heart is more than a mere biological pump.  These abundant nerve cells give it a thinking, feeling capability.

The heart’s “brain” and the nervous system relay messages back and forth to the brain in the skull, creating a two-way communication between these two organs.  In the 1970s, physiologists John and Beatrice Lacey of the Fels Research Institute found a flaw in current popular thinking about the brain.  The popular approach was to assume that the brain made all of the body’s decisions.  The Lacey’s research indicated otherwise.

Specifically, these researchers found that while the brain may send instructions to the heart through the nervous system, the heart doesn’t automatically obey.  Instead, the heart seems to respond at times as if it is “considering” the information that it has received.  Sometimes when the brain sends an arousal signal to the body in response to external stimuli, the heart speeds up, as might be expected.  On other occasions, however, the heart slows down while all other organs are aroused as expected.

The selectivity of the heart’s response suggested to the Lacey’s that the heart does not mechanically respond to the brain’s signals.  Rather, the heart seems to have an opinion of its own, which it communicates back to the brain.

What was even more interesting in the Lacey’s research was the fact that the messages that the heart sent to the brain seemed to be ones that the brain not only understood but obeyed.  In effect, heart and brain hold an intelligent dialogue.  At times the heart submits to the brain, and on other occasions the brain seems to submit to the heart.  The messages from the heart appear to be capable of affecting an individual’s behavior.

Again, Dr. Colbert:

The most powerful channel of heart communication to the body, however, is through the heart’s electromagnetic field, which is about five thousand times greater in strength than the electromagnetic field the brain produces.

Scientists are able to detect electronic information the heart sends through a brain-wave test called an electroencephalogram (EEG).  Gary Schwartz and his colleagues at the University of Arizona found in their experiments that neurological or other established communication pathways could explain the complex patterns of cardiac activity in our brain waves.  In other words, acting somewhat like military code breakers in World War II, these researchers had to learn, “the language of the heart.”  Their data showed the existence of direct energetic interaction between the electromagnetic field of the heart and that produced by the brain.

Finally, Dr. Colbert:

Author and scientist Paul Pearsall described an incident that occurred when he was speaking to an international group of psychologists, psychiatrists, and social workers in Houston, Texas.  He was talking about his belief in the central role of the heart in both physical and spiritual life.  A physician came up to the microphone to share her story.  This is what she told Dr. Pearsall and the others present in that auditorium:

I have a patient, an eight-year-old little girl, who received the heart of a murdered ten-year-old girl.  Her mother brought her to me when she started screaming at night about her dreams of the man who had murdered her donor.  She said her daughter knows who it was.  After several sessions, I just could not deny the reality of what this child was telling me.  Her mother and I finally decided to call the police and, using the descriptions from the little girl, they found the murderer.  He was easily convicted with the evidence my patient provided.  The time, the weapon, the place, the clothes he wore, what the little girl he killed had said to him…everything the little heart transplant recipient reported was completely accurate.  [End of quotes]

You can be certain that new research forthcoming will expand dramatically on man’s understanding of the thinking heart.  According to the scriptures, the heart thinks and deals in matters that we respond to emotionally.  The old axiom, love is blind, meaning the heart makes choices that a person in his rational mind would reject, is obviously true.  The heart has a mind of its own.

The heart can be made merry or said and the results manifest themselves in very physical ways.  Yes, the heart thinks, playing a very cognitive role in our daily lives just like God said, and now thousands of years later, science confirms.  Stay tuned for excellent truth.

GOD SAID, Proverbs 17:22:

A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.

GOD SAID, Proverbs 15:15:

All the days of the afflicted are evil: but he that is of a merry heart hath a continual feast.

GOD SAID, Matthew 12:34:

O generation of vipers, how can ye, being evil, speak good things? for out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh.

GOD SAID, Proverbs 16:9:

A man's heart deviseth his way: but the LORD directeth his steps.

GOD SAID, Genesis 6:5:

And God saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every imagination of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.

MAN SAID: The heart has no cognitive skills.  The Bible’s accounts are to be taken metaphorically, if at all, and certainly not to be taken literally.

Now you have THE RECORD.

 

References:

Authorized King James Version

Colbert, D., M.D., Deadly Emotions, Thomas Nelson Publishers, Nashville

Fackelmann, K., “The Cortisol Connection,” Science News, vol. 152, Nov. 29, 1997Martin, R. A. & J. P. Dobbin, “Sense of Humor, Hassels and Immunoglobin A: Evidence For a Stress-Moderating Effect of Humor,” International Journal of Psychiatry in Medicine, 1985

National Bone Marrow Transplant Link

Rogers, J., “The Blues Are a Bone-Breaker,” Psychology Today, May/June 2000

Wooten, P., Humor an Antidote for Stress, 1996

World Health Organization, Discover Magazine, Oct., 2000

Visits: 5350